Web 190905 congrats

WSNA would like to congratulate the following Washington state nurses on being named 2019 fellows by The American Academy of Nursing (AAN):

  • Lisa Day, PhD, RN, CNE — Day is Vice Dean for Educational Innovation and Clinical Professor at Washington State University College of Nursing in Spokane. She has consulted on several national nursing education-related projects; is a co-author of the landmark 2010 publication “Educating Nurses: A Call for Radical Transformation;” and has provided faculty development workshops and curriculum consultations for schools of nursing in the US and Canada.
  • Dawn Lee Garzon Maaks, PhD, RN, APRN, FAANP — An associate professor at the University of Portland, Maaks is a seasoned nurse educator who has held multiple leadership roles in professional nursing organizations, including president of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners and chair of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) pediatric nurse practitioner content expert panel.
  • Kathleen H. Johnson, DNP, RN, NCSN, PHNA-BC, FNASN — Johnson is a clinical assistant professor at the University of Washington (UW). She served as the manager of student health services at Seattle Public Schools and is chair of the Informatics Advisory Committee for the National Association of School Nurses.
  • Elaine Walsh, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC — Walsh is an associate professor at the UW, and an ANCC Certified Clinical Specialist in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing. She is a member of the King County Suicide Prevention Coalition and an affiliate faculty member of Forefront: Innovations in Suicide Prevention, based at the UW’s School of Social Work.
  • Mayumi A. Willgerodt, PhD, MPH, RN — Willgerodt is an associate professor and vice-chair for Education in the department of Family and Child Nursing at the UW, and affiliate faculty in the Center for Health Sciences Interprofessional Education Research and Practice (CHSIE). She has developed, facilitated, and led interprofessional (IP) curricula and training activities for students and faculty and provides consultation nationally.

Inductees are chosen by AAN because they have made significant contributions to nursing and health care. The class of 2019 was announced on June 18 and includes 231 nurse leaders from 38 states. Inductees will be honored at a ceremony during the AAN’s annual policy conference, “Transforming Health, Driving Policy,” Oct. 24-26 in Washington, D.C

Additionally, Karl Hoehn, JD, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, was inducted into the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) group of fellows at their annual meeting Aug. 21-23 in Chicago. Hoehn was one of 14 nurse leaders inducted in 2019. NCSBN empowers and supports nursing regulators in their mandate to protect the public.